

Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism





September 12, 2013

Results of 8th APEC Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM8) Technical Tours

As a part of 8th APEC Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM8), Technical Tours were held on September 6th (Fri.), introducing different Japanese infrastructures to participants from the APEC economies*.

Five transportation infrastructure-related trips were arranged and nearly 70 participants from 13 economies joined according to their interests.

*Since APEC members include "Countries" such as Japan and Singapore, and "Regions" such as Hong Kong, China and Chinese Taipei, the participating countries and regions are called "Economies" or "Member Economies".

APEC Economies

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People's Republic of China, Hong Kong, China, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, The Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, The United States, Viet Nam

- 1. Date: September 6, 2013 (Fri)
- 2. Arranged trips and numbers of participants (the following 5 trips were arranged):
 - (1.) Expressway & EV Trip (13 participants)
 Highway traffic control center → Automobile factory (Nissan Plant in Oppama)
 - (2.) High-speed Rail & Jet Airplane Trip (18 participants) Tokyo Station → Ride on Tokaido Shinkansen → "SCMAGLEV and Railway Park" Museum (in Nagoya) → MRJ Factory
 - (3.) Airport Trip (4 participants) Tokyo International Airport (Haneda) (international terminal, air traffic control facilities and D runway)
 - (4.) Port & Shipyard Trip (20 participants)
 Yokohama Port South Honmoku Pier → Umihotaru parking area → Chiba works of Mitsui Engineering & Shipbuilding
 - (5.) High-speed Rail and Tohoku Recovery Trip (13 participants) Tokyo Station → Ride on Tohoku Shinkansen → Tohoku Regional Development Bureau MLIT (explanation on the damage and recovery from the disaster) → Nobiru Station (damaged area: Senseki Line) → Shinkansen General Rolling Stock Center (observe actual maintenance works)
- Head of Delegation participants:
 - (1.) Expressway & EV Trip
 Gerry Brownlee, Minister of Transport (New Zealand)
 Ano Pala, Minister of Transport (Papua New Guinea)
 - (2.) High-speed Rail & Jet Airplane Trip

Pedro Pablo Errázuriz Domínguez, Minister of Transport and Telecommunications (Chile) Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi, Deputy Minister of Transport (Malaysia)
Joseph Emilio Aguinaldo Abaya, Secretary of Transportation and Communications (The Philippines)
Somchai Chanrod, Chief Inspector-General of Transport (Thailand)

- (3.) Airport Trip
 Carlos Almada Lopez, Undersecretary of Transportation (Mexico)
- (4.) Port & Shipyard Trip Yeh Kuang-Shih, Minister of Transportation and Communications (Chinese Taipei)

Mr. Takatomo Kinoshita, Ms. Kana Dan International Policy Division, Policy Bureau, MLIT Phone: +81-3-5253-8111 (ex. 25753, 25756) +81-3-5253-8312 (direct)