Press Release

8th APEC Transportation Ministerial Meeting (TMM8)


 The 8th APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) Transportation Ministerial Meeting will be held as below.
 Akihiro Ohta, the Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism of Japan will co-chair the meeting with Evert Erenst Mangindaan, the Minister of Transportation of Indonesia.
 The results from the meeting will be reported at the joint press conference that is planned to start at 5:10 p.m., after the closure of the meeting on September 5.

1. Date

September 4 (Wed.), 2013     Women in Transportation Forum, Business Forum
September 5 (Thu.), 2013     Transportation Ministerial Meeting
September 6 (Fri.), 2013       Technical Tours

* Women in Transportation Forum
A forum hosted by the United States with participation from public and private sectors that will examine policies and practices to increase women's participation in transportation professions, as well as outline strategies for continued collaboration on the advancement of this important issue.  

* Business Forum.
With the themes of the Ministerial Meeting in mind, business leaders from both domestic and abroad will meet to discuss on the roles of the public and private sectors, and proposals to the government.

2. Venue

Tokyo   Hotel New Otani

3. Overview

Transportation Ministers of member economies will meet to discuss on the following topics under the main theme of “Enhancing Connectivity*” by ‘High-Quality Transportation’ in the APEC Region.”
 (1) Main Topics:
Session 1: Promoting Connectivity
Session 2: Enhancing Transportation Infrastructure
Session 3: Pursuing “Quality Transport”
*  “Connectivity” means physical and institutional connection within the APEC region to promote the free flow of people, goods and capital. This is one of the priorities of this year’s APEC Economic Leaders’ Meeting.
(2) Planned Participants:
Ministers and deputies of APEC member economies (Please see the attached list) 

*  Since APEC members include “Countries” such as Japan and Singapore, and “Regions” such as Hong Kong, China and Chinese Taipei, the participating countries and regions are called “Economies” or “Member Economies”
*  APEC Economies
Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People's Republic of China, Hong Kong, China, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, The Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, The United States, Viet Nam

4. Technical Tours

In order to introduce the transportation infrastructure of Japan to the Ministers and delegates of the member economies, we have arranged the following 5 trips.

1.  Expressway & EV Trip
Highway traffic control center → Automobile factory (Nissan Plant in Oppama)

2.  High-speed Rail & Jet Airplane Trip
Tokyo Station → Ride on Tokaido Shinkansen → “SCMAGLEV and Railway Park” Museum(in Nagoya)→MRJ Factory

3.  Airport Trip
Tokyo International Airport (Haneda) (international terminal, flight control facility and D runway)

4.  Port & Shipyard Trip
Yokohama Port South Honmoku Pier → Umihotaru parking area → Chiba works of Mitsui Engineering & Shipbuilding

5.  High-speed Rail and Tohoku Recovery Trip
Tokyo Station → Ride on Tohoku Shinkansen → Tohoku Regional Development Bureau MLIT (explanation on the damage and recovery from the disaster) → Nobiru Station (damaged area: Senseki Line) → Shinkansen General Rolling Stock Center (observe actual maintenance works)


Details of the meeting are available on the TMM8 website. 

Contact Information

MLIT International Policy Division, Policy Bureau Mr. Shinya Kobayashi, Mr. Shuji Maeda
TEL +81-3-5253-8111 (Extension 25754) Direct Phone +81-3-5253-8312 Cell Phone(4th only): +81-90-3007-9523