Daisen-Oki National Park

Daisen-Oki National Park extends over the three prefectures of Tottori, Shimane, and Okayama. The 35,353 hectares of the park has four distinctive regions. The eastern side encompasses volcanic landscapes with mountains and highlands that include Mt. Kenashi, the Hiruzen Highlands, and Mt. Daisen, the highest peak of the Chugoku region. Northwest of the mountain range, the Shimane Peninsula consists of both elevated and submerged coastlines. South of the peninsula, the park includes Mt. Sanbe, a tholoid-type volcano which has extensive pastures. Offshore are the Oki Islands, large and small islands whose steep cliffs rise dramatically from the ocean.