Fujimi Jusanshu Yochi Zenzu: Complete Map of the Thirteen Provinces with Views of Mt. Fuji

This map shows the thirteen historical provinces from which Mt. Fuji can be seen, with the circular form of the mountain itself visible toward the bottom. The thirteen provinces are Kai and Suruga, in which Mt. Fuji stands; the "Eight Kanto Provinces" surrounding Edo (modern-day Tokyo); and Izu, Shinano, and Totomi. Villages, rivers, roads, and sightseeing spots are also shown in detail.

The map was published in 1843, during a period when faith in Mt. Fuji was rising to new heights among the residents of Edo. The artist Hokusai (1760–1849) published his ukiyo-e print series *Thirty-Six Views of Mt. Fuji* during this period as well. The effort that went into this map reflects the growing interest in Mt. Fuji at the time. The map was evidently highly popular: it was reprinted multiple times, and many copies survive even today.