Daiichi Hongū

Daiichi Hongū, or "first main shrine," is dedicated to Sokotsutsuno-o no Mikoto, one of the three maritime deities enshrined at Sumiyoshi Taisha. Its offering hall, or *heiden*, is larger than those of the other three main shrines. This difference in size, however, does not reflect any difference in status between the deities. They are considered equals, and the four main shrines are otherwise identical.

Coins lodged in the shingles at the edge of the hall's roof are errant offerings tossed by the crowds that gather at the shrine during the New Year holidays. The current *honden* (main sanctuary) was built in 1810 and is designated a National Treasure.